Place

Le Jardin Découverte

Welcome to Conches-en-Ouche, in the heart of Normandy. A small Normandy village, famous for its equestrian center. Every year it sees the graduating classes of students who have passed the “Horse” baccalaureate.

The Jardin Découverte is a group of small independent houses and rooms of a main house, rented with hotel services. They can be rented by the day, just like a hotel. The whole site is a magnificent garden planted with trees, a true haven of peace, yet located in the heart of the village. You can laze under the trees, lulled by the singing of the birds.

The village is made up of typical Norman houses that line the paths leading to the arborétum and its Norman museum. From the Jardin Découverte, you can easily access the footpaths through lakes, forests and rivers teeming with trout.

Rooms

Le Jardin Découverte

Orange room

The 16 m² Orange Room is located on the 1st floor. It offers 2 large windows, a double bed, an antique parquet floor, a small desk, an internet connection, an armchair, a flat screen TV, large cupboards, a bathroom with shower.

Rate per night 130€

Book

White room

The 16 m² White Room is located on the 1st floor. It offers 2 large windows, a double bed, an antique parquet floor, a small desk, an internet connection, an armchair, a flat screen TV, large cupboards, a bathroom with shower.

Rate per night 130€

Book

Brown Room

The 25 m² Brown Room is located in the Bourgeoise House. It offers 3 large windows, a double bed, an antique parquet floor, a small desk, an internet connection, an armchair, a flat screen TV, large cupboards, a bathroom with shower.

Rate per night 145€

Book

Suites

The Suites located in the Bourgeoise or Briques house are ideal for 2 people. These rooms of 30 m², have 4 large windows, a double bed, an antique parquet floor, a small desk, an internet connection, an armchair, a flat screen television, a second room with a sofa, large cupboards, a bathroom with shower.

Rate per night 160€

Book

Bauge house

The Bauge house is a detached house of 100 m² on 3 levels and ideal for your stays as a couple. This Norman house has a large equipped kitchen opening onto a private garden on the ground floor and a flat screen television. Upstairs, you will find a living room with a fireplace and a bauge wall. On the top floor, a flat screen television, a bedroom (bed 160) and bathroom await you.

Rate per night 240€

Book

Garden

Le Jardin Découverte

In the heart of nature

Set in a 2,000 m² park, Le Jardin Découverte offers elegant rooms and houses with views and access to the communal terrace and garden. Discover the lovely landscaped garden bordered by small old buildings with half-timbered walls or warm-coloured plaster.

Book

Location

Le Jardin Découverte

The village

The village of Conches is in the Ouche region and located at 20 minutes from Evreux, only 1:40 from Paris. The village is also accessible by train from the Saint-Lazare station, your journey will take you 1:40. The break between the Parisian tumult at the departure of the Parisian station, and the bucolic calm upon arrival in Conches, is striking. In a short time, find yourselves in the heart of a small Norman village.

The region

Conches, at the eastern end of the Pays d’Ouche, keeps traces of the Gallo-Roman occupation (the road from Chartres to Lillebonne, entrenchments in the forest, etc…), its coat of arms: “Gold with a band of Blue Azur charged with three shells of Silver” fascinates scholars. Do they allude to the shape of its valley, or to the abundance of shells in its ponds, or even better to the memory of Conques, in Aveyron, visited by one of Tosny’s first sons back from Spain?

Still, Conches made its entry into history after the Norman Conquest. Roger I went to war in Spain, founded the Abbey of Chastillon-les-Conches and, abandoning his first fortress near the sources of the Rouloir, built the present keep. His son Raoul II took part in the conquest of England and received vast estates there. Raoul III, on returning from a pilgrimage to Spain, visited Conques and brought back a relic of Sainte Foy, who became the patron saint of the church he had built. Dugueslin, who defeated his troops at Cocherel (1364), took the fortified town after a long siege and remained Count of Conches until his death.
The town grew thereafter, its trade prospered, renowned were its ironwork items such as the products of the Forges du Vieux Conches. The Dukes of Bouillon obtained the concession to float wood from the forest via the Rouloir and the Iton to Rouen; a lot was built around the middle of the 18th century.

In 1844, the construction of the Paris-Cherbourg railway transformed the economic and social life of the city. Once again, with the progress of machinery, the Forges du Vieux Conches experienced an era of prosperity. They produced artistic firebacks and the central arrow of Rouen Cathedral came out of their workshops. Conches was also home to the famous Normandy dairy industry, being the seat of the manufacture of the BRIDEL camembert.
Today Conches is a peaceful city of 5,000 inhabitants where it’s good to live and walk around…

Hotel Le Jardin Découverte

In the heart of Normandy, Le Jardin Découverte is a group of small independent houses and rooms of a main house.

Lieu

Le Jardin Découverte

Bienvenue à Conches-en-Ouche, au cœur de la Normandie ! Petit village Normand, réputé pour son centre équestre, il voit passer chaque année les promotions d’élèves titulaires du bac « Cheval ».

Le Jardin Découverte est un ensemble de petites maisons indépendantes et de chambres d’une maison principale, loué avec services hôteliers. Elles peuvent être louées à la journée, au même titre qu’un hôtel. L’ensemble du site est un magnifique jardin arboré, un véritable havre de paix, situé pourtant au cœur du village. On se prélasse sous les arbres, bercé par le chant des oiseaux.

Le village est composé de typiques maisons normandes qui bordent des chemins qui mènent à l’arborétum et son musée Normand. Du Jardin Découverte, on accède aisément aux chemins de ballades à travers lacs, forêts et rivières foisonnant de truites.

Chambres

Le Jardin Découverte

Chambre Orange

La Chambre Orange de 16 m2 est située au 1er étage. Elle offre 2 grandes fenêtres, un lit double taille 140, un sol en parquet ancien, un petit bureau, une connexion internet, une fauteuil, une télévision écran plat, des grands placards, une salle de bains avec douche.

Tarif par nuit 140€

Réserver

Chambre Blanche

La Chambre Blanche de 16 m2 est située au 1er étage. Elle offre 2 grandes fenêtres, un lit double taille 140, un sol en parquet ancien, un petit bureau, une connexion internet, une fauteuil, une télévision écran plat, des grands placards, une salle de bains avec douche.

Tarif par nuit 140€

Réserver

Chambre Marron

La Chambre Marron 25 m2 est située dans la Maison Bourgeoise. Elle offre 3 grandes fenêtres, un lit double taille 160, un sol en parquet ancien, un petit bureau, une connexion internet, un fauteuil, une télévision écran plat, des grands placards, une salle de bains avec douche.

Tarif par nuit 160€

Réserver

Suites 

Les Suites située dans la Maison Bourgeoise ou Briques sont idéales pour 2 personnes. Ces chambres de 30 m2 disposent de 4 grandes fenêtres, d’un lit double taille 160, d’un sol en parquet ancien, d’un petit bureau, d’une connexion internet, d’un fauteuil, d’une télévision écran plat, d’une seconde pièce avec canapé, des grands placards, d’une salle de bains avec douche.

Tarif par nuit 190€

Réserver

Maison Bauge

La Maison Bauge est une maison individuelle de 100 m2 sur 3 niveaux et idéale pour vos séjours en couple. Cette maison normande dispose d’une grande cuisine équipée donnant sur un jardin privatif au RdC et d’une télévision écran plat. À l’étage, vous trouverez un séjour avec cheminée et un mur en bauge. Au dernier étage, une télévision écran plat, une chambre (lit 160) et salle de bain vous attentent.

Tarif par nuit 240€

Réserver

Jardin

Le Jardin Découverte

Au cœur de la nature

Installé dans un parc de 2 000 m², Le Jardin Découverte propose des chambres et des maisons élégantes offrant une vue et un accès à la terrasse commune et sur le jardin. Découvrez le ravissant jardin paysager bordé de petits bâtiments anciens aux murs à colombages ou enduits de couleurs chaudes.

Réserver

Environnement

Le Jardin Découverte

Le village

Le village de Conches est en Ouche est situé à 20 minutes d’Évreux, à 1H40 de Paris, et surtout est accessible en train en 1h40, au départ de la Gare St Lazare. La rupture entre le tumulte Parisien au départ de la gare Parisienne, et le calme bucolique dès l’arrivée à Conches , est saisissante. En peu de temps on se retrouve au cœur d’un petit village Normand.

La région

Conches, à l’extrémité orientale du Pays d’Ouche, garde des traces de l’occupation gallo-romaine (voie de Chartres à Lillebonne, retranchements en forêt, etc…), ses armoiries :  » d’or à une bande d’azur chargée de trois coquilles d’argent  » passionnent les érudits. Font-elles allusion à la forme de sa vallée, ou à l’abondance des coquillages de ses étangs, ou mieux encore au souvenir de Conques, en Aveyron, visitée par un des premiers fils de Tosny de retour d’Espagne ?

Toujours est-il que Conches fait son entrée dans l’histoire après la Conquête Normande. Roger I va guerroyer en Espagne, fonde l’Abbaye de Chastillon-les-Conches et, délaissant sa première forteresse près des sources du Rouloir, édifie le donjon actuel. Son fils Raoul II participe à la conquête de l’Angleterre, y reçoit de vastes domaines. Raoul III, au retour d’un pèlerinage en Espagne, visite Conques en rapporte une relique de Sainte-Foy, qui devient la patronne de l’Église qu’il fait construire. Dugueslin, vainqueur de ses troupes à Cocherel (1364) prend la ville fortifiée après un long siège et reste Comte de Conches jusqu’à sa mort.
La ville s’agrandit par la suite, son commerce prospéra, renommés furent ses articles de ferronnerie comme les produits des Forges du Vieux Conches. Les ducs de Bouillon obtinrent la concession du flottage des bois de la forêt par le Rouloir et l’Iton jusqu’à Rouen ; on construisit beaucoup vers le milieu du XVIIIe siècle.

En 1844, la construction de la voie ferrée Paris-Cherbourg transforme la vie économique et sociale de la cité. À nouveau, avec le progrès du machinisme, les Forges du Vieux Conches connaissent une ère de prospérité. Elles produisent d’artistiques plaques de cheminées et la flèche centrale de la Cathédrale de Rouen sort de leurs ateliers. Conches a également abrité la célèbre industrie laitière Normande, étant le siège de la fabrication du camembert BRIDEL
Aujourd’hui Conches est une cité paisible de 5.000 habitants où il fait bon vivre et s’y balader…

Hôtel Le Jardin Découverte

Au coeur de la Normandie, Le Jardin Découverte est un ensemble de petites maisons indépendantes et de chambres d’une maison principale.